Lehman, Langer, Montgomerie, Olazabal, Singh and Daly Among Commitments to 2018 Cologuard Classic at Omni Tucson National

Posted by Rob Myers on

Tucson, Ariz. (February 6, 2018) – With the Cologuard Classic PGA TOUR Champions event just three weeks away, the field is taking shape and is loaded with numerous Major Championship winners. The Cologuard Classic will be played the week of February 26-March 4, 2018 at Omni Tucson National’s Catalina Course. A field of 78 players will vie for the $1.7 million purse with a first-place prize of $255,000.

Cologuard Classic commitments include defending tournament champion Tom Lehman, 36-time Champions Tour winner Bernhard Langer, six-time Champions Tour winner Colin Montgomerie, two-time Masters champion José María Olazábal, 34-time PGA TOUR winner Vijay Singh and two-time Major Champion John Daly. In addition, 2018 Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualalai champ Jerry Kelly and 2017 Charles Schwab Cup champion Kevin Sutherland have also committed to play in the Cologuard Classic.

“The player commitments have been rolling in over the last few weeks,” said J.J. Jewell, Cologuard Classic Tournament Chairman and member of the Tucson Conquistadores, the host organization of the tournament. “We’re excited to see so many incredible champions coming to Tucson. The tournament is a fun family event with a portion of the proceeds benefitting local youth athletic programs.”

Players in the field have combined for 22 Major Championship victories, led by Vijay Singh’s three majors. Other Major Championship winners playing in the Cologuard Classic include: Mark Brooks (1), Mark Calcavecchia (1), Daly (2), Todd Hamilton (1), Lee Janzen (2), Langer (2), Lehman (1), Larry Mize (1), Mark O’Meara (2), José María Olazábal (2), Corey Pavin (1), Scott Simpson (1), Jeff Sluman (1) and David Toms (1).

The Tucson Conquistadores are the host organization of the Cologuard Classic. Since their inception in 1962, the Conquistadores have contributed more than $35 million to youth athletic programs in-and-around Tucson.

2018 marks the first year of the Cologuard Classic, named after Exact Sciences’ noninvasive at home colon cancer screening test, and the fourth year the Conquistadores have partnered with the PGA TOUR Champions Tour. Tournament champions over the first three years include: Marco Dawson in 2015, Woody Austin in 2016 and Tom Lehman in 2017. The 2018 Cologuard Classic will be broadcast on Golf Channel, Friday – Sunday (March 2-4). For tickets and more information on the Cologuard Classic, visit www.cologuardclassic.com.

Alpha Field List

2018 Cologuard Classic As of 2/6/2018

Allen, Michael
Ames, Stephen
Andrade, Billy
Armour III, Tommy
Austin, Woody
Blake, Jay Don
Bradley, Michael
Broadhurst, Paul
Brooks, Mark
Browne, Olin
Bryant, Bart
Byrum, Tom
Calcavecchia, Mark
Cochran, Russ
Daly, John
Dawson, Marco
Day, Glen
Dunlap, Scott
Durant, Joe
Faxon, Brad
Flesch, Steve
Forsman, Dan
Franco, Carlos
Funk, Fred
Garwood, Doug
Goodes, Mike
Goydos, Paul
Hamilton, Todd
Huston, John
Janzen, Lee
Jenkins, Tom
Jobe, Brandt
Jones, Kent
Kelly, Jerry
Langer, Bernhard
Lehman, Tom
Lowery, Steve
Maggert, Jeff
Mayfair, Billy
McCarron, Scott
Mediate, Rocco
Mize, Larry
Montgomerie, Colin
O'Meara, Mark
Olazábal, José María
Parel, Scott
Parnevik, Jesper
Pate, Steve
Pavin, Corey
Pernice Jr., Tom
Petrovic, Tim
Sauers, Gene
Short, Jr., Wes
Simpson, Scott
Sindelar, Joey
Singh, Vijay
Sluman, Jeff
Smith, Jerry
Sutherland, Kevin
Tanigawa, Ken
Toledo, Esteban
Tolles, Tommy
Toms, David
Triplett, Kirk
Tway, Bob
Verplank, Scott
Wadkins, Bobby
Waldorf, Duffy

Media Contact: Rob Myers, rob@rmprgroup.com, 602-317-6131

View the Official Release

← Older Post Newer Post →